New Books

May 10, 2007 at 9:54 pm 4 comments

I went to the library today but there were no seats due to exams (lots of 18-21 year olds shuffling papers and surreptitiously checking their mobile phones), so I ended up in the university bookshop instead. Oops. And they had 25% off fiction. So I bought:

  • Disgrace, by J.M. Coetzee
  • Orlando, by Virginia Woolf
  • The Hours, by Michael Cunningham
  • The New Life, by Orhan Pamuk

And then I ran very fast so I didn’t buy a couple of novels by Simon Armitage and Brick Lane by Monica Ali. Got to stop somewhere. I’m quite excited about The New Life cos of the medievalist references (to Dante’s Vita Nuova) – I’ve read a paper about it somewhere. The justification was to cheer myself up for feeling a bit down about my PhD. Update – the Randolph Stow fest can slow down a bit cos I still need to keep working on my Les Murray chapter. I’m also part way into The Man Who Was Thursday, by G.K. Chesterton, so p’raps I’ll get back to that.

Entry filed under: new books.

The Merry-go-round in the Sea From bookworm to butterfly

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fifi  |  May 11, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    hello meli,

    I love all those books, how funny!
    And merry go round in the sea, fancy that floating into my consciuosness right now!

    australian medievalism…sounds fascinating. I am envious. I cant wait to read all your posts.

    best wishes
    fifi

  • 2. fifi  |  May 11, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    *consciousness*

    hmph

  • 3. meli  |  May 11, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    That is funny! Nice to know I’ve chosen good ones. 🙂

  • 4. jess  |  May 13, 2007 at 3:39 am

    I like to hear what you think of Disgrace- I thought it was amazing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 3,905 hits

