Book Awards Reading Challenge

June 17, 2007 at 3:59 pm 6 comments

The idea is to read 12 prize winning books between 1 July 2007 and 30 June 2008. Click on the link above for more info. I’d been meaning to read many of these anyway:

  1. The New Life, by Orhan Pamok (Nobel Prize – Turkey)
  2. Hunger, by Knut Hamsun (Nobel Prize – Norway)
  3. Kristin Lavransdatter I: The Wreath, by Sigrid Undset (Nobel Prize – Norway)
  4. The Tin Drum, by Gunter Grass (Nobel Prize – Germany)
  5. Women as Lovers, by Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize – Austria)
  6. Omeros, by Derek Walcott (Nobel Prize – Saint Lucia)
  7. Beloved, by Toni Morrison (Pulitzer Prize, Nobel Prize – United States)
  8. The Secret River, by Kate Grenville (Commonwealth Writers’ Prize)
  9. Midnight’s Children, Salmon Rushdie (Booker of Bookers)
  10. The Book Thief, by Marcus Zusak (2007 Book Sense, Children’s Lit)
  11. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, by Michael Chabon (Pulitzer Prize)
  12. Gilead, by Marilynne Robinson (Pulitzer Prize)

It may be subject to change as whim takes me. I wondered about including more Nobel Prize winners – but many of them looked very depressing. I thought I’d give Women as Lovers a go as it’s set in a remote Austrian village, something I’m quite familiar with. If I like The Wreath I’ll probably read the rest of the trilogy.

Prize winning books previously read in 2007

  • The Hours, by Michael Cunningham (Pulitzer Prize)
  • Disgrace, by J. M. Coetzee (Booker, Nobel Prize)
  • Randolph Stow novels (these have won a variety of Australian prizes)
Entry filed under: challenge.

Orlando Poetry

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nymeth  |  June 18, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Very interesting list!

    I’m thinking of picking 7, 9 and 11 as well.

  • 2. Eva  |  June 19, 2007 at 6:14 am

    Seems like a fun challenge! And you have a good list of books going on. 🙂

    That blog you linked me to was really funny-thanks for letting me know about it!

  • 3. Siew Cooper  |  June 19, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Good list! Glad I have someone to read ‘The Secret River’ with!

    Beloved and Midnight’s Children….already two fantastic books that I love.

  • 4. tanabata  |  June 19, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    Great list! I’ve had Hunger in my stacks for ages, maybe I should try to fit it in too.

  • 5. Conrad H. Roth  |  June 20, 2007 at 9:50 am

    The Grass is good; great ending, especially. Didn’t care for the Morrison, the Hamsun, the Pamuk (that one was particularly bad), or the Rushdie. Don’t know the others.

  • 6. meli  |  June 20, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Thanks for your thoughts, all. It seems the jury’s out on Beloved, but I have a feeling I’m going to like it. Not so sure about Hunger – I’m partly reading it for Norwegian patriotic purposes (not quite the right word but you know what I mean). But I can’t believe Midnight’s Children isn’t brilliant – I read Satanic Verses last year and it blew me away, and everyone says MC is better (I’m also quite ashamed that I haven’t read it before now). We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 3,905 hits

