The Penguin Book of Norse Myths

April 26, 2008 at 9:06 pm 1 comment

All I have to say about this is it’s absolutely awesome. The myths are told lightly, with restraint, but with enough poetic details to keep me interested. In the past I’ve ploughed through the originals in the Poetic Edda and the Prose Edda, and this was much more fun. I was so impressed that I looked up Kevin Crossley-Holland, who wrote these versions, and it seems he’s an utter legend. I fully intend to get my hands on his children’s books, his collection of English stories, and his poetry.

Entry filed under: Kevin Crossley-Holland, medieval, Scandinavia.

Why you should read Francis Webb (with a medievalist interlude) The New Life

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tanabata  |  April 29, 2008 at 8:03 am

    This sounds good. Informative but fun. I’ve eyed his Arthur trilogy but have yet to read anything by him.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 4,040 hits

